We don’t need no education

Starting school can trigger  fear, apprehension, and acute separation anxiety; all of which I experienced when we took Max to his first doggy-obedience class last week.

Due to all the frenetic barking, I couldn’t hear a word the trainer was saying, so my stress-levels shot up, especially as most of the barking came from Max.

Max, who at home has mastered commands to sit, lie down, stay, and come when called, totally ignored me in his rush to get to the other dogs. And apart from one little terrier who got excluded early on, Max was the naughtiest in class!

The whole thing was so traumatic I’m never going back! I’m going to home-school him from now on…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rosanna
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 06:37:45

    This made me smaile… nevertheless it would be good to perservere as he’ll need contact with other dogs to stop him pulling away or running after them when you are out – and a bigger, stronger dog will be harder for you to control – have fun x

    Reply

  2. The martini effect
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 18:37:00

    The problem with being deaf in one ear is that bad acoustics combined with background noise means I can’t hear a thing and the sound gets kind of scrambled. I get stressed in situations where I can’t hear and I think Max may have picked up on this, so the class situation doesn’t really work for us. Never mind, I’ve since discovered Nottingham’s answer to the dog whisperer who reckons he can teach us all we need to know in a two hour session at home.

    Reply

  3. The martini effect
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 18:37:41

    plus he’s actually very good with other dogs while out and about. He was barking at the class because he wanted to play with them!

    Reply

  4. AF
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 20:40:03

    I’m barking at work, though it’s usually at the lack of class!!! Ever wonder “Is it me…?” – maybe that’s what Max was thinking to himself.

    Reply

  5. Christie
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 04:09:18

    Yay, homeschooling! LOL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

