The Max factor

He’s young. He’s fit. He’s handsome. He’s a little bit naughty. And he adores me.

Meet Max, the new male in my life.

He’s a one-year-old Springer-Pointer cross (a Sprointer?) and came all the way over from Ireland to a rescue centre in Lincolnshire.

He is settling in very well and is good therapy. Someone pointed out recently that there has been a lot of loss in my life in recent years. (Both parents dying, Jane dying, Oscar dying, losing a breast etc etc) and I sometimes feel an overwhelming wave of sadness wash over me.

When this happens, I go with it for a while, it is part of the grieving process. Then I go back to my gratitude diary, and try to focus on the positives.

So it is wonderful to have something new and living and full of promise to care for and watch grow.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mainelyhopeful
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 14:29:06

    Martinis and Max! What could be better?

    Reply

  2. Rosanna
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 16:08:16

    This is very moving and poignant Clare. I like the idea of a gratitude diary – perhaps I will follow your example. Wishing you a great deal of pleasure with the new addition to your family. Rosanna x

    Reply

  3. Julie Short
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 20:19:41

    Dogs are such good companions – great for taking you to a better place (physically and metaphorically).
    I hope you enjoy each other to the full 😊

    Reply

Leave a Reply

