Secrets or lies?

I had an email out of the blue asking if I’d like to interview Dr Ben Johnson no, not the renaissance playwright – that would be a scoop, but the ‘renowned health expert and the only medical doctor to appear in the inspirational movie The Secret.’

Now I didn’t know much about The Secret other than a vague idea it was something new-agey to do with positive thinking and the power of the mind to make things happen. Thinking about things, be they negative or positive, attracts those things to you, or so goes the theory (says she, thinking about a big fat cheque for a very large sum of money). I’d also heard that protagonists of The Secret say that if you think about a particular illness you get it.

Which to my mind begs the question, how come I got meningitis back in 1989 when I’d barely heard about it? I certainly hadn’t been thinking about it. I thought it was a disease that only babies got and  was gobsmacked to wake up in hospital and be told I’d got it.

So it was with some scepticism that I sat down last night to watch the DVD, expecting something aggressively evangelistic, in-your-face and American. However, as it went along I found myself agreeing with a lot of what was said.

You get more of what you focus on. If you focus on the good stuff then there certainly seems to be more of it. I’ve pulled myself out of depression in the past by writing a list of good things that have happened that day – even if initially I can’t think of one, after a few days the gloom starts to lift.

There were elements that made me uncomfortable; the idea that you focus on the car you want and then you get it goes against the grain. After all, possessions don’t make you happy, not for long, anyway. But there were others bits I found I couldn’t argue with. That there is an abundance of good-will to go round, plenty for everyone. That if you come at everything from a position of lack, you only notice what’s missing, but if you feel fortunate then you somehow are.

Dr Johnson is author of The secret of health – breast wisdom, and a protagonist of The Healing Codes, which, it’s claimed, he used to heal himself of an incurable disease.

I look forward to interviewing him.

Oh and if anyone wants to go to the Inspiring People conference he’s speaking at in February, get in touch – I’ve been offered discounted tickets.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rosanna
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 20:17:49

    Or to put it another way, if you have the FAITH of a mustard seed you can move mountains! I read Rhonda Byrne’s The Secret a few years ago and, yes, positive thinking wins hands-down over cup-half-empty stuff. I look forward to reading the interview.

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 07:56:31

    So the native Indians and their bears were on the mark after all …..keep feeding the positive bear x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

