Triumph over Tamoxifen

What a wonderfully adaptive thing the human body is. Mine is now coping well with the daily intake of drugs and the side-effects have all but disappeared. Energy levels are shooting back up to pre-cancer levels; I’m running, swimming and cycling again and starting to shed the extra stone I’d put on.

Switching brands of Tamoxifen could have something to do with it – a tip I learnt from another survivor. You wouldn’t think it would make much difference but apparently it does.  I now get mine from Boots, who do a repeat prescription service. I no longer have the hassle of dropping the slip off at the doctors, calling back in for the prescription then taking it to the chemists. Boots do it all for me. They even phone to tell me its ready. Marvellous!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jacqui722
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 12:22:05

    I’m on year 4 of taking tamoxifen. I’m almost done, thank goodness. The hot flashes have been a major battle, but I started taking Remifemin, a tip from another survivor and it’s really helped me a great deal.

    I’m looking forward to being a 5 year survivor. It’s been quite a journey, as you know! Wishing you health and happiness-
    Jacqui PS My hair is STILL curly 🙂

    Reply

  2. The martini effect
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 18:10:57

    Thanks Jacqui, always good to hear of people further down the road to recovery, hope you go from strength to strength.

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 13:28:24

    Great thing, Boots.
    Glad to hear that the exhaustion didn’t last.

    x Chrisite

    Reply

Leave a Reply

