In a spin

Yesterday they sent me home early from work because I was dizzy – and I’m not even blonde any more! I was staring at my computer screen when the room started to spin.

This is a throwback to Killer Illness number one (meningitis) which sent me deaf in one ear and caused me to have vertigo attacks for several years afterwards.

Attacks were sometimes violent and could floor me with no warning. One minute I’d be walking down the street, the next I’d be on the ground. I’d spend whole days horizontal and throwing up while the world gyrated around me. It was like being horribly drunk. I used to carry an emergency kit comprising sick bag, doctor’s note and taxi fare home. The note explained to onlookers that I had a medical condition which made  me stagger and fall and was not inebriated! I used it once when I had an attack in town and a helpful sales assistant got me a taxi. (This was in the days before mobile phones).

Eventually, with the help of something called Cawthorne Cooksey exercises , which re-train the brain, it all settled down and I was vertigo-free for years until chemotherapy brought on a couple of mild attacks. I’m hoping yesterday’s episode was a one-off.

People at work led me to the first aid room – a little known oasis of tranquility amid the whir of the working day. There’s a comfortable bed in there.. worth remembering if I ever fancy a snooze!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 12:02:31

    Feel better and take care of yourself Clare! I am having same symptoms, I think it’s definitely the chemo!
    Alex

    Reply

  2. Joy
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 12:01:12

    oh dear thats not very fun…hope its a ‘one off’ and you feeling better soon x

    Reply

  3. Julie Short
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 14:39:51

    I think it’s the chemo too! I had that happen to me and I was given some tablets to put against the inner of my mouth when it happened. I hope it doesn’t last too long for you. Julie x

    Reply

  4. clare
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 20:45:48

    Thanks – it’s reassuring to know others have had it too as a result of chemo. There’s been no recurrence since Friday – fingers crossed x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

