Detox or die!

After finishing my treatment  I decide to detox my life to give myself the best chance of recovery with no recurrence. So I consult that fount of knowledge the world wide web to see what I can do about it. I’m no scientist, so the maelstrom of conflicting information is confusing at best, but surely there are some things I can cut out?

Take plastics, for example. There seems to be evidence that some plastics leach oestrogen-mimicking chemicals into food, so for anyone with a hormone-fed cancer they’re best avoided.

Easier said than done. I look in the kitchen, and see a fridge full of plastic. Everything, from bacon to beetroot, carrots to coleslaw is sitting in plastic containers. There’s so much plastic I can almost smell those toxins seeping out.

Dairy is another popularly believed culprit. Milk contains growth hormone designed to make calves grow big, which is all very well for bovines but not so great for humans. The trouble is the alternative – soya – apart from tasting foul, also contains oestrogens so that’s a no-no too.  

Meat is bad; red meat especially so. In fact so many things are deemed damaging it begins to get quite depressing. So I start looking into things that are ‘good’. And there’s a list of them; superfoods which it’s claimed fight the growth of malignant cells in the body.  Seaweed, apples, broccoli, and watercress are just oozing with cancer-fighting qualities, apparently. So I head for the shops. Seaweed takes some finding, but eventually I track some down at the health shop, packaged in heavy duty plastic..I then call in to the supermarket to get the broccoli, watercress and apples. And what are they all wrapped in? Plastic!

Maybe life’s too short!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 17:22:38

    Plastics have taken over the world! How come we ever got so dependant on it!

    Reply

  2. lindahhh
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 20:32:05

    It’s tough to defy the mainstream, but I believe that our modern world sets us up for cancer! I have some friends who have a “plastic-free home”, and they run workshops on plastic-free living! I’ve been collecting glass jars for awhile now, and I fill them up at bulk food stores (the one that I shop at will pre-weigh them for me so I don’t get charged for the weight of the jar!). I also recommend almond milk, it’s delicious! They make hemp milk and rice milk too. At any rate, all that effort and I still got cancer (and now, low blood counts!), so you just have to do what you can and feel good about it! Best wishes! – L

    Reply

  3. lindahhh
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 20:34:45

    Oh, and if you haven’t checked it out yet: http://www.cosmeticsdatabase.com/ is a great resource to check out how toxic your cosmetics are. It’s a lot of work though, so start with the basics!

    Reply

  4. Julie
    May 01, 2011 @ 18:35:53

    Yeah I know it is so confusing?? I have no idea what I should be eating or not, dairy, esp milk, and red meat etc. A lot of the good food makes me feel really down and I resort to comfort eating again.
    Anyway I read an article recently where a woman only ate the right fruit and veg, but it came back anyway- you can’t win.
    Anyway
    take care
    Julie

    http://www.jdaylucky7.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

