I am the one in three

Last night in the pub a bloke I hadn’t seen for a year asked me straight up if I’d been having treatment. “I know a chemotherapy haircut when I see one.”  Turns out his wife has had breast cancer twice, unbeknown to me.

Last weekend at a a party I was introduced to a bloke with the same hairstyle as me (very short with a ridge in the middle, almost a mini-mohican) for the same reason. And at the same event a woman I ended up chatting to most of the evening had also had it. “There’s a lot of it about!” we concurred, as we raised a glass to our survival. 

Chances are the person standing next to you in the queue, the woman opposite you on the tram, the bloke who serves you in the petrol station have either had cancer themselves or someone close to them has. Among my immediate neighbours, three out of four of us have had it, and that’s just the ones I know about.  Perhaps, as US oncologist and author Siddhartha Mutherjee  argues cancer is the new normal. But what I keep coming back to is why?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LD
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 21:01:24

    Good to see you blogging again. Lucyx

    Reply

  2. Maura
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 19:27:32

    First post – to see if it works!

    Reply

  3. Maura
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 19:27:59

    It did 🙂

    Reply

  4. lowasampsonite
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 14:12:53

    Thanks for the blog comment, I am going to start following your blog. Best wishes!

    Reply

  5. tinkerbelle86
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 17:36:15

    wow, its amazing how someone can just tell?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

