The redundant civil servant

Our lives are filling up with leaving do’s as colleagues past and present succumb to the public sector squeeze. My job is safe but JP’s becomes redundant in April. What will he do I wonder? He has irons in the fire but if they don’t work out he can always get gigging. He is, after all, one of the best guitarists in the world. 

Some people have secured jobs or sideways moves, others are busy reinventing themselves. One woman I know has re-trained as a stress management consultant, someone else is growing micro-vegetables in her cellar, and another took early retirement, remodelled herself as a fitness instructor and is now working in a gym.

Who says you can’t have a whole new career past the age of 50?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MH
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 16:05:37

    I’ve changed jobs twice since the age of 50 – I used to manage a library, now I’m a Geek! (according to my daughter).

    Reply

  2. Avril Molde
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 15:15:21

    Another one to add to your list of reinvented lives after the civil service.
    At age 64 I have taken my retirement package from GOEM but have moved on to work part time for a charity called Business in the Community. Feel proud & privileged to have found a new job in the current climate.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

