The martini effect

“Have you heard of the martini effect?” said the Psychologist. “You write 350 words then have a martini.” I’ve written 900 words today, but forgot to get any martini. Simon’s home made wine will do instead. When I googled ‘martini effect’ I discovered two other meanings. One is something deep sea divers get –  each ten metres under equates to one martini. The other is about being able to connect to the world anytime anyplace anywhere – so it struck me as a suitable title for this new blog, not least because this year I want to finish my novel and overcome a phobia of going underwater.

Just back at work after ten months undergoing breast cancer treatment. I’ve been breaking myself in very gradually. The Department are helping with this by not yet giving me a phone or an email account.

Today I saw the breast cancer team about the next – and final – bit of  treatment, the completion of my new boob. After last year’s six-hour uber-operation, this little op seems a cinch. They will whip out the uncomfortable saline bag currently in there and replace it with a small, shaped, silicon implant which will last ‘for ever’.

The reconstructed breast is now slightly bigger than the other one, and my surgeon, the brilliant Miss Bello, wanted to enhance the other one to match. She seemed disappointed when I said ‘no!’ She is a perfectionist.

Trying out a new blogging platform and haven’t a clue what I’m doing. It’s supposed to be easier for followers. We’ll see.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. clare
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 22:52:44

    testing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

